Sisters Who…fear not

Psalm 46: 1-3 “God is our refuge and strength, always ready to help in times of trouble. So we will not fear when earthquakes come and the mountains crumble into the sea. Let the oceans roar and foam. Let the mountains tremble as the waters surge!”

Refuge~ someone or something providing shelter

Strength~ a person or thing perceived as a source of mental or emotional support.

This year has been full of “earthquakes”, “mountains crumbling”, “oceans roaring”, and “waters surging”. And it’s not over yet. I love that these verses are saying nothing that happens on Earth can change who God is. “He is the same yesterday, today, and forever.” Hebrews 13:8

God will always provide shelter (refuge) for you. He will always provide mental and emotional support (strength) for you. He wants to be so close to you, you need only to whisper your prayers and He will hear them. We talk about perspective a lot. In the picture below, which is bigger the mountain or the pile of stones? Notice I didn’t say which “looks” bigger. Of course the mountain is bigger but from that perspective the pile of rocks looks bigger.

The stones are small, but because they are so close, like God, they appear large. God is larger than any problem we could ever face. In Psalm 46:9 the Bible says, “He causes wars to end throughout the earth. He breaks the bow and snaps the spear; he burns the shields with fire.” He can free you from your fears. He is your refuge and strength. Trust God to be your refuge.

Dear God, please help me to focus on my faith in you, not my fear. I want to trust your protection over my life. Please help me to be at peace with You by my side. Amen.

Leave a comment