Sisters Who…Love

In Mark 12, verses 30-31, a teacher of the law asked Jesus what the greatest commandment is. Jesus said, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’ The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.”

Did you hear what He said? Love. Love is the answer to the greatest question. Our Pastor this week talked about this as well. He said love is one of the languages of Heaven. To speak this language we must understand that we have nothing if we don’t have Love!

Do you know the difference between being “religious” and “spiritual”? You can do anything “religiously”. That just means you do it repeatedly. I read my Bible religiously, i.e. every day. The definition of spiritual is: relating to or affecting the human spirit or soul as opposed to material or physical things. To have a true bond with God you need to have a relationship with Him. That means you must let Him “affect your spirit and soul.”

As I grow in my relationship with God, I feel His Spirit move in me. I talk to Him like I would a friend. I trust Him to guide me in the right direction so I can do my best work for His Kingdom. This is a special bond I refuse to let go of. That’s what the Greatest Commandment is all about.

The second greatest commandment is to Love Others. God put you here to affect those around you. To choose to love them is to choose Jesus’s path. He knew what the end of His life would look like yet He still chose to love. Share your journey with others and be their shoulder to cry on in hard times. I promise, you won’t regret it!

Dear God, please help me to love others as you love me. Help me to see them through your eyes. I want to build my relationship with you by keeping You as my focus. Please help me to be a light in a dark world. Amen.

Leave a comment